Member Institutions and Groups



Sydney Catalyst is the Translational Cancer Research Centre of Central Sydney and Regional NSW.

We have more than 20 member institutions and groups (list below) spread across six cities and four Local Health Districts in NSW.

Click on the interactive map to explore where our member institutions and groups are located and learn more.

In addition, we also have a number of partner groups which you can read about below.

Region Map Mid North Coast: Coffs harbour Metropolitan Sydney Murrumbidgee: Wagga Wagga Western NSW: Dubbo, Orange, Bathurst

Member GroupGroup HeadSub GroupSub Group Head
Asbestos Diseases Research Institute (ADRI)Nico van Zandwijk  
ANZAC Research InstituteDavid Handelsman for ANZACDendritic Cell Biology and Therapeutics GroupDerek Hart
Bathurst Base Hospital  
Cancer Researchers, University of Sydney main campusJohn SimesCancer Research NetworkJohn Simes
  Cancer Epidemiology and Services Research (CESR) groupJane Young
  Centre for Medical Psychology & Evidence-based Decision-making (CeMPED)Phyllis Butow
  NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre (CTC) John Simes
  Surgical Outcomes Research Centre (SOuRCE)Jane Young
  The Cancer Nursing Research Unit (based at SCC)Kate White
  Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmaceutical Policy Research groupSallie Pearson
Canterbury Hospital  
Centenary Institute of Cancer MedicineMathew Vadas  
Concord Repatriation General HospitalPhillip Beale  
Dubbo Base Hospital  
Melanoma Institute AustraliaJohn Thompson  
North Coast Cancer Institute, Coffs Harbour Base HospitalTom Shakespeare  
Orange Base Hospital  
Royal Prince Alfred HospitalPhillip BealeDept. of Radiation Oncology
  Institute of Haematology
  Institute of Academic SurgeryJane Young
St. Vincent's Hospital includes Sacred Heart Hospice, Cunningham Centre for Palliative Care ResearchSacred Heart Hospice
  Cunningham Centre for Palliative Care ResearchJane Ingham
Chris O'Brien LifehouseMichael Boyer  
Garvan Institute includes The Kinghorn Cancer CentreDavid Thomas  
Wagga Wagga Base Hospital  


Collaborating Partner Groups of Sydney Catalyst include:

Woolcock Centre for Lung Cancer Research; Australasian Gastro-Intestinal Trials Group (AGITG); Australasian Lung Cancer Trials Group (ALTG); Australia and New Zealand Breast Cancer Trials Group (ANZBCTG); The Australian New Zealand Gynaecological Oncology Group (ANZGOG); Australian and New Zealand Urogenital and Prostate Cancer Trials Group (ANZUP); The Cooperative Trials Group for Neuro-Oncology (COGNO); Inner West Sydney Medicare Local; The Primary Care Collaborative Cancer Clinical Trials Group (PC4); the Psycho-Oncology Co-Operative Research Group (PoCoG) 

*Please note that new member groups may be added at any stage with the approval of the Governing Council. Please contact the Sydney Catalyst manager if you would like an institution or group to be considered for membership.