Top image

Sydney Catalyst members awarded over $9 million NHMRC funding

Article Type
05 May 2020
The National Health and Medical Council Medical Research Council (NHMRC) has awarded seven Sydney Catalyst members over $9 million in funding as part of their Investigator Grant Scheme to support their cancer research projects.
Here are more details on the Sydney Catalyst members who have been successful in securing funding:
·       Professor Paul Keall was awarded $2,114,215 for his cancer imaging and targeted radiation therapy research project.
·       Professor Lisa Horvath was awarded $1,930,260 to explore the biological targets and biomarkers in the treatment of prostate cancer.
·       Professor Nehmat Houssami  was awarded $1,851,430 to compare the effectiveness of breast tomosynthesis and mammography in real world population screening.
·       Professor Rachael Morton was awarded $1,074,900 to embed economics into cost-effective melanoma prevention, diagnosis and treatment.
·       Dr Ulf Schmitz was awarded $645,205 to research post-transcriptional gene regulation in cancer.    
·       Dr Brooke Nickel  was awarded $645,205 to research the impact of breast density notification in Australia.
·       Professor Markus Seibel was awarded $1,500,000 for the implementation and analysis of an evidence-based, integrated model of care for secondary fracture prevention.
The Investigator Grant scheme is NHMRC's largest funding scheme. The 2020 Investigator Grant round is the second round for this scheme and funds grants will commence in 2021. The scheme provides a five-year funding for these high-achieving researchers.
Back to list